Rants of a Weird Little Bird

Random stuff involving myself…and people around me. Hello, and goodbye. :-)

The Kindergarten Years

leave a comment »

I was in a Catholic kindergarten school during the first year of my kindergarten. Surprisingly or otherwise, I have scant recollections of those days, except that we had to say “Thank you God, for your food”, even though I did not know what “God” was, or whom. My mother was the person who made lunch for me, and not God. I never got curious enough to ask my parents what it was I had to say before lunch in kindergarten either, though I was delighted that I never had to chant those words whenever I didn’t have to go to school.

I didn’t have recollections of whether there were any morning prayers either, but then again, I can’t remember what I had learned during that year even, though I did remember the head veils and white robes the teachers wore. It never struck me as to why they had to dress that way – I had assumed that teachers had to wear uniforms like us.

After we moved house, K2 was fresher in my mind. It was a secular kindergarten school, but I recall the teachers trying to explain Good Friday, and the nailing of Jesus Christ to the cross. I didn’t recall grimacing at the explanation or the crucifixion, but then it was only a small segment of the whole kindergarten experience. For me, the plus sign and the drawing of a man nailed to it was just something abstract.

Of course, you know what happened during my primary school years. That incident where I was sort of alienated from my classmates still remains fresh in my mind.

During my secondary school years, though, I had an uncomfortable brush with members of a certain Christian church.

Written by aweirdlittlebird

March 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

