Rants of a Weird Little Bird

Random stuff involving myself…and people around me. Hello, and goodbye. :-)

On the Way Home From the Doctor’s Office

leave a comment »

Sunday 11pm.

I trudged back home in the middle of the night, towards home. My head was spinning, and I was dragging a small, light and transparent plastic bag which contained my medication against flu and headache.

After ten minutes of walking in the light drizzle, I walked down the dimly-led pathway which led to my block…and I saw this long-haired girl a fair distance ahead of me, taking a few tentative steps forward, and suddenly spinning around and sprinted towards my direction.

“What’s wrong?” I ventured.

“Mouse,” she said.

“Oh,” I smiled. “Nah, these aren’t mice. These are rats…you can keep mice as pets, but rats, no way. Where are you going?”

It turned out that we lived in the same block. Yay.

“I’m going there myself. Let’s walk together,” I suggested.

“Okay,” she said. Even as we walked, she would glance furtively around her for any signs of rats scampering around her.

And so, I had company home that night. Yay.

This young stranger didn’t sound local.

“Chosun?” I asked.

“Don’t understand,” she said.

“Nihon jin desu ka?” I asked.

“Huh?” she asked.

“You don’t sound Singaporean, from the way you speak English. Where do you come from?”

“China,” she said.

After some talk, it transpired that she was a polytechnic student from China, and it was her first year here. Soon, we stepped into the lift and exchanged telephone numbers, and names.

“Give me a phone call – maybe we can go for a swim together?” I asked.

“Sure,” she said.

The lift door closed as she made her way back home. As the lift continued its way up to where I lived, the lighting in the lift seemed to have dimmed by several watts. I was sure it wasn’t because of the headache which made me get a medical certificate from the doctor to excuse me from work the next day.

If only she were The Girl.

Written by aweirdlittlebird

July 28, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

