Rants of a Weird Little Bird

Random stuff involving myself…and people around me. Hello, and goodbye. :-)

Nicole Seah’s Interview on Razor TV

with 3 comments

Let’s get this out of the way first – Nicole Seah is pretty.

Bimbotic? Hell no.

This is a transcript of excerpts of an interview conducted by Razor TV. Note how the reporters try to rake her over the coals about her age, her vulgar Twitter feed, and her greatest regret in her life.

Then, notice her overall confidence in tackling the questions. Wow.

Not to mention how she tackles potentially awkward questions with much humour, especially the one about that vulgar Twitter feed. Goh Meng Seng had wanted to take the question from her, but she told him that she wanted to address it herself.

Never on any occasion during this interview did she not know what to say. Kudos to her!

GE: More interviews with Nicole Seah – 21Apr2011

What kind of grassroots or policy-making experience do you have?
Ok, with regards to your question, I wouldn’t say that I have had grassroots experience per se, but I’ve been very involved in the community ever since I was in secondary school. I used to volunteer regularly with a community service group, and I was a camp counsellor to delinquent secondary school students, and on top of that, I also made regular house-to-house visits to deliver food stuffs to the needy. Just to sidetrack, this was actually when I had my first political awakening, because when I visited a house, I was surprised to see that there was an old lady who was – she had a roof over her head, but she didn’t even have enough money to buy a meal, and that angered me, because, yes, we have provided food for her for that one day, but what is going to happen to her for the rest of her days? And that was when I realised that we need policies to go down to the root of the matter, and you cannot rely on organisations to do the job for you. Moving on, so after that I went to junior college – I was always very actively involved in CCAs – I was in the secondary school band, after that I continued with my band activities in junior college. When I moved on to university, I decided to take on a more nurturing role, so what I did was, I continued doing camp counselling, because I believe that’s the best way to integrate students into the community. On top of that, I also headed an online publication in NUS, that was independent of any stakeholders. So this was called the Campus Observer, I fronted it as the managing editor, and from there, I explored issues that were pertinent to the ground at NUS.

What’s your response to criticisms about your age and suitability to connect with the ground?
Many people have questioned whether youth is a liability in politics. I’ll like to disagree. I feel that, in politics, you need a representation of different types of voices. In parliament, you need to ensure that there is a diverse and well-rounded group of individuals who are coming together to speak on behalf of national interests, so with that, I would like to say that, you know, I want to stand up here, as a candidate, and I want to represent the voices of young Singaporeans who feel that they want a stake in this country, who want to have their voice heard, but who have been apathetic all this while because they feel powerless to make any real change, and I want to change that. I want to engage young Singaporeans in politics and policy-making.

Why contest at Marine Parade GRC when pitting against Tan Pei Ling is going to draw attention away from national issues?

[Goh Meng Seng’s reply – but since this is not about Nicole Seah and not about him, go watch the video if you want to know what he has to say :) ]

The NSP has been working the ground in MacPherson for the past two years, and (to Goh Meng Seng) or maybe longer than that (laughs), yes or maybe longer than that but that was before I joined the NSP – so, we already have a very intimate understanding of the ground, and it would be a shame if we were to let this GRC go uncontested, the way it has for the last twenty years. For me personally, Marine Parade holds a lot of sentimental value because I spent most of my education there in CHIJ, in TKSS, followed by VJC, so I feel a strong draw to the environment, to the GRC itself, and I hope to offer my candidacy to the residents to show that I am familiar with their concerns and their needs.

Netizens who spotted vulgarities on your Twitter feed are now talking about it. What’s your response to that?
Ok, er…(to Goh Meng Seng) never mind, it’s okay, I will address this question. (Laughs) The Twitter was meant as a, a personal account, and I am quite surprised to see that people would dig up a post that is really very, very old, because I have seen that particular Tweet for myself, and it has something to do with congested traffic. Now, honestly, if the traffic has been like, at a standstill for an hour and you are running late for a meeting, wouldn’t you be swearing too? (Laughs) That’s all I can say.

Can you describe your family background?
Yes, I’m from a middle-class family. I stay in a five-room HDB flat, so if that’s down-to-earth enough…I eat at the coffee shop every day, because that’s the cheapest thing that I can afford. I mean, once in a while, I do go abroad with my friends, be at nice places but, you know, I think with regards to being on the ground, I understand how the average Singaporean feels, because I myself am an average Singaporean. I’m not elite, I do not have a scholarship background, I was never, like – I never read university overseas, so I think with regards to the concerns of the everyday Singaporean, I understand how it feels. I understand how it feels to stand in a crowded train; I understand how it feels to, you know, to be stuck in congested traffic, you know, refer to my Tweet, so, (laughs), yeah, so, I think, yeah, I do empathise.

How did your friends and family react to you taking part in the election?
I think that politics in general is quite tricky, especially for the opposition, but one thing I am very thankful for, and I think it’s important to have, is a strong support system, so I have friends, I have family, I have all the people who are rallying behind me online.

Have your parents voiced any disapproval?
I think one thing that I am thankful for, is that I’ve been raised in a culture that has always taught me to push the boundaries and to question the status quo, so I think part of it led to me questioning the current state of policies. Yes, they benefit Singaporeans as a whole, but what about those who fall through the cracks? Is there enough being done for them? And I think that, yeah, I have very supportive parents.

What is your greatest regret in life?
Wow, you guys, really recycling your questions! (Laughs) Okay, I think that’s a very tricky question to ask a twenty-four-year-old. I’m only twenty-four. I cannot say that I’ve had a regret that’s so life-threatening that’s stopped me in my tracks and made me unable to move forward. So, yes, I would say that I have had many setbacks in life, perhaps a few minor regrets here and there, but I think as a whole, every triumph, every regret, every tear that you’ve shared, every path that you’ve chosen to take, has developed me as a person.

What is your biggest strength and weakness?
Okay, my biggest strength, I would say, is that I’m very driven, and I’m very committed, and I’m very energetic, so when I find that I am committed to a cause, I see it through, and I have a very strong sense of justice, so if I feel that there are people who are being treated unfairly, if I feel that there has been an unfair distribution of resources, I would want to be in there to step in and to be the do-er, you know, to change things instead of standing by the sidelines and complaining.

But with regards to my weakness, you know, that could also translate to my weakness, because I can get very emotional about it, so, I need to control that. But, that said, I am also a procrastinator sometimes, so, for those of you on my Facebook page, if I haven’t reply to your comments, I am very sorry. I will do it very soon.

What do you think is your edge over Ms Tin Pei Ling?
I do not wish to compare myself to her. I do not wish to focus on issues that are of trivial importance, and I think that it is important that we focus on the pressing national issues at hand, that will impact how voters make their decisions in the coming elections.

Written by aweirdlittlebird

April 22, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] – Thoughts of a Cynical Investor: Chiam: The importance of EQ – Rants of a Weird Little Bird: Nicole Seah’s Interview on Razor TV – Anonymous_X: Zeng Guoyan … an independent candidate who once went to jail for 3 months, […]

  2. Now just what we need: a good marketer. still, Better than some government ball-sucking headless bimbo who cares little for commoners like us.

    bourgeousie

    April 26, 2011 at 4:48 pm

  3. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

    http://razor.nsk.ru

    November 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm


Leave a Reply

